Skip to main content
Shopping Cart


          The Association for Women in Communications



After a two year hiatus, AWC Tulsa is excited to host the 47th Annual Newsmakers Awards Luncheon, Wednesday, May 4, from 11:30 a.m. to 1:00 p.m. at Southern Hills Country Club.

We’re committed to awarding all sponsor-supported scholarships from 2020 and 2021 and honoring the following women for the significant professional contributions they’ve made throughout their careers.

Join us to celebrate the remarkable impact of these newsmakers!

Saidie Lifetime Achievement Award Honoree
Joy Harjo, Poet Laureate of the United States

Newsmakers Award Honorees
Aliye Shimi, Executive Director, Tulsa Metropolitan Ministry
Lisa Shotts, Executive Director, Gaining Ground and Union Public Schools Teacher of the Year 2019
Kim Teehee, Cherokee Nation Businesses Senior Vice President of Government Relations and Cherokee Nation Delegate to Congress

Registration details: Ticket price: $55 members | $65 nonmembers
Sponsorships available! Learn More | Sponsor This Event

Register Now